Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story

From his humble beginnings working for Hull City Council to a career in the spotlight, playing alongside David Bowie and taking his place in the Rock Hall of Fame.

Beside Bowie will provide insight into the life and career-long associations of Mick Ronson, who played most famously with with David Bowie (with whom Ronson played guitar on The Man Who Sold The World, Hunky Dory, The Rise Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars, and Aladdin Sane), as well as other greats including Bob Dylan, Ian Hunter (Mott The Hoople), Lulu and Lou Reed, amongst a wealth of others.

Working closely with members of Ronson’s family, Jon Brewer continues his tradition of intimate access and authenticity in chronicling the life and works of this man, a cornerstone of Rock.

Jonathan Ross, BBC Radio 2
“**** [FOUR STARS]” 
Radio Times
“Absolutely fantastic… It’s a gem of a documentary”
Cerys Matthews, BBC Radio 6
Classic Rock
“Brewer's intimate, affectionate portrait really is an essential reminder of the guitar great's singular influence on the Bowie legend.”
Radio Times
"A beautiful film documenting some of the most groundbreaking rock music of the ’70s and the major contribution Mick Ronson offered well beyond being Bowie’s guitar player.”
Film Journal
“Gripping…the image Brewer leaves us with is powerful”
Film Threat
“Ronson’s raw fiery guitar was the spark behind Bowie’s turn to rock and ultimately established rock credentials for him.”
Film Threat
“Without Ronson there’d have been no Ziggy”
Film Threat